News and information from our partners

Summer reading fun at Polk County libraries



POLK COUNTY -- Kids throughout Polk County are being invited to "Read A Wild Tale" during a summer reading program sponsored by the libraries in Dallas, Monmouth and Independence.

The program starts this month and there are all sorts of activities planned at each of the three public libraries.

To be a part of the program, children just have to go their local library and register.

After they register, they get a wild west booklet. For every 15 minutes they read, they can color in a boot. For every hour they read, they get a cow stamp on the corral in their book.

They also get a prize they can pick up at the library whenever they complete an hour of reading.

Having books read to them or listening to a book on tape also counts as reading -- no matter the age of the child.

Also, coming to a Tuesday or Wednesday library activity also counts as a free hour of reading.

However, children don't have to attend the programs to be part of the reading program.

Every Saturday, Independence children's librarian Patty Rodriguez will read stories at Sterling Bank at 11 a.m. and lead children through a small craft.

Activities this summer include:

DALLAS

Thursday, June 21

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

3:30 p.m. -- Create your own T-shirt. Bring a polyster-rich T-shirt. All art supplies and "branding irons" are supplied.

Tuesday, June 26

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

3:30 p.m. -- Western surprise.

Thursday, June 28

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

3:30 p.m. -- Mad Science.

Tuesday, July 3

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

Thursday, July 5

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

3:30 p.m. -- Book auction.

Tuesday, July 10

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

Thursday, July 12

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

Tuesday, July 17

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

Thursday, July 19

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

Tuesday, July 24

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

Thursday, July 26

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

3:30 p.m. -- Albert Alter the clown.

Tuesday, July 31

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

Thursday, Aug. 2

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

3:30 p.m. -- Reptile Man.

Tuesday, Aug. 7

10:30 a.m. -- Infant and toddler time.

3:30 p.m. -- Will Hornyak, storyteller and artist.

Thursday, Aug. 9

10:30 a.m. -- Preschool storytime.

INDEPENDENCE

Wednesday, June 20

2 p.m. -- Mad Science.

Saturday, June 23

11 a.m. -- Reading Roundup (at Sterling Bank).

Tuesday, June 26

2 p.m. -- Music and tales with old-time fiddler Truman Price.

Wednesday, June 27

2 p.m. Albert Alter the clown.

Saturday, June 30

11 a.m. -- Reading Roundup (at Sterling Bank).

Tuesday July 3

2 p.m. -- Make a costume.

Saturday, July 7

11 a.m. -- Reading Roundup (at Sterling Bank).

Tuesday, July 10

2 p.m. -- Make a toy.

Wednesday, July 11

2 p.m. -- Author Becky Hickox.

Saturday, July 14

11 a.m. -- Reading Roundup (at Sterling Bank).

Tuesday, July 17

2 p.m. -- Wagon Bingo.

Wednesday, July 18

11 a.m. -- Teddy bear picnic at Riverfront Park.

2 p.m. -- Make a covered wagon.

Saturday, July 21

11 a.m. -- Reading Roundup (at Sterling Bank).

Tuesday, July 24

1 p.m. -- Bike rodeo at Central High School.

Wednesday, July 25

2 p.m. -- Reptile Man.

Tuesday, July 31

2 p.m. -- Wild West tales with Dennis Eberly.

Wednesday, Aug. 1

Wild West Summer Hoedown (end of program party).

MONMOUTH

Thursday, June 14

1 p.m. -- Storyteller Tom McLaughlin.

Tuesday, June 19

1 p.m. -- Record a radio show.

Wednesday, June 20

6 p.m. -- Tall tales in the park.

Thursday, June 21

1 p.m. -- Actors in Action present "Pecos Bill."

Tuesday, June 26

1 p.m. -- Quilts.

Wednesday, June 27

6 p.m. -- Stories in the park (animals of the West).

Thursday, June 28

1 p.m. -- Mad Science.

Thursday, July 5

1 p.m. -- Reptile Man.

Tuesday, July 10

1 p.m. -- Music of the Old West.

Wednesday, July 11

6 p.m. Stories in the park (cowboys).

Thursday, July 12

1 p.m. -- Author Becky Hickox.

Tuesday, July 24

1 p.m. -- Bike rodeo at Central High School.

Wednesday, July 25

6 p.m. -- Stories in the park (trails West).

Thursday, July 26

1 p.m. -- Storyteller Ray Ballantyne.

Tuesday, July 31

1 p.m. -- Travel the Oregon Trail.

Wednesday, Aug. 1

6 p.m. -- Stories in the park (animals of the West).

Thursday, Aug. 2

1 p.m. -- Storyteller Greg Harris.

Wednesday, Aug. 8

6 p.m. -- Stories in the park (summer reading awards).

More information is available by calling the Dallas Public Library at 503-623-2633, the Monmouth Public Library at 503-838-1932 or the Independence Public Library at 503-838-1811.



Partner Content



Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment