Primary election sees a sparse ovter turnout

POLK COUNTY -- Democrat Ted Kulongoski will battle Republican Ron Saxton and independent candidate Ben Westland for governor of Oregon this November.

The three were winners in a primary election that saw only 38 percent of the state's registered voters cast ballots. That's the second lowest turnout in Oregon history, after 34.9 percent in 1998.

The primaries in Polk County -- in which about 14,700 of 40,660 registered voters cast ballots last week -- were merely formalities for several familiar candidates running unopposed.

Sue Lamb received the Democratic nomination for position No. 2 on the Polk Board of Commissioners.

Sitting Commissioners Tom Ritchey and Ron Dodge both won unopposed races for their respective No. 2 and 3 positions.

Ritchey, a Republican, will square off against Lamb this November.

Current Polk Circuit Court judges William Horner and Charles Luukinen both won non-partisan races for their seats.

Other election victors:

State Senate District 10 --

Paul Evans of Monmouth, Democrat; Jackie Winters of Salem, Republican.

State Representative District 20 -- Connie Garcia of Independence, Democrat; Vicki Berger of Salem, Republican.

State Representative District 23 -- Jason Brown of Dallas, Democrat; Brian Boquist of Dallas, Republican.

State Representative District 24 -- Sal Peralta of McMinnville, Democrat; Donna G. Nelson of McMinnville, Republican.

Voters in Polk and Yamhill counties turned down a $13.5 million general obligation bond to build a new high school and elementary classrooms in Willamina.

Monmouth residents approved the city's annexation of parcels of land at 655 S. Pacific St. and 5945 Talmadge Rd. and another in the 800 block of S. Warren Street for incorporation.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment