7/20 School Notes / Academic Honors

*Meyer to lead Dallas School Board*WESD elects 2011-12 board leaders*Firefighters announce scholarships*Polk students earn degrees at PU*West Salem trio honored at Gonzaga*Locals qualify for dean's li


Meyer to lead Dallas School Board

DALLAS -- The Dallas School Board has selected its new leaders for the 2011-12 school year.

Board member Lu Ann Meyer has been designated as the board chairwoman and Mike Bollman vice chairman for the upcoming year.

Meyer will be responsible for running the board's meetings throughout the year. She presided over her first meeting on July 11.

WESD elects 2011-12 board leaders

SALEM -- Willamette Education Service District has announced the election of Larry Trott as WESD board chairman and Ken Hector as board vice chairman.

The two were elected to leadership positions at WESD's July 12 board of directors meeting.

Both Trott and Hector held these positions in 2010-11.

Hector was elected last year to the Zone 3 seat representing school districts in south Polk County and south Marion County. Trott just completed his fifth year of service on the WESD board representing the Salem-Keizer School District in Zone 4/5.


Firefighters announce scholarships

DALLAS -- The Dallas Volunteer Firefighters Association announced this month the recipients of the 2011 Frank "Harpy" Bovard Scholarship.

Two Dallas High School seniors were selected, with each receiving a $1,000 scholarship. They are Christina Bibler, who will attend Linfield College in McMinnville, and Kylie Roth, who will attend Western Oregon University in Monmouth.

In addition, two fire department family members were selected to receive $500 scholarships. Katelynn Riemer and Tyler Brumfield, children of Dallas volunteer firefighters, will both be attending Western Oregon University in the fall.

Polk students earn degrees at PU

FOREST GROVE -- Several students from Polk County recently earned degrees from Pacific University at the conclusion of the 2011 spring term. They include: Garrett Knowles, Monmouth, doctorate in optometry; Tyler Lalack, Dallas, master's degree in teaching; Mattie Morris, Dallas, bachelor's degree in dental hygiene; and Stacia Fry, Independence, bachelor's degree in film and video: Japanese studies.

West Salem trio honored at Gonzaga

SPOKANE, Wash. -- Three West Salem residents have received academic recognition for the recently completed 2011 spring semester at Gonzaga University. Rachel Fischer and Ryan Tuttle have qualified for inclusion on the school's president's list. Students must earn a grade-point average of 3.7 to 4.0 to be listed. Meanwhile, Andrew Burr has earned placement on Gonzaga's dean's list. Students must earn a GPA of 3.50 to 3.69 to qualify.

Locals qualify for dean's list at EOU

LA GRANDE -- Five students who reside in Polk County have qualified for inclusion on the 2011 spring term dean's list at Eastern Oregon University. They are: Andrew Alapai of Monmouth, Leigh MacCarthy of Monmouth, Steven Sickles of Falls City, Amanda Stoltz of Falls City and Rachel Wiley of West Salem. To qualify, students must achieve and maintain a grade-point average of 3.50 or higher while completing 12 or more graded course hours.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment