7/11 School Notes / Academic Honors

*Chemeketa going to summer hours*KVCS's PTO announces new leaders*Western recognizes 4.0 students*Polk residents make GFU dean's list*WSHS grad earns college degree*Local group presents scholarships*F


Chemeketa going to summer hours

SALEM -- Chemeketa Community College will switch to summer hours effective Friday, including its branch campus location in Dallas.

The college will be open to the public from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays; most college services will be closed Fridays, weekends and holidays.

Summer hours will not affect the following locations or programs: Brooks Regional Training Center; Building 48, including MaPS Credit Union and Winema Market & Deli; Chemeketa Center for Business and Industry; Corrections Education; EOLA Viticulture Center; SOAR Program; TRIO Upward Bound Summer Academy; and Woodburn High School Programs.

The college will return to regular 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekday office hours Tuesday, Sept. 4.

KVCS's PTO announces new leaders

KINGS VALLEY -- The Kings Valley Charter School Parent Teacher Organization has announced its new executive board for the 2012-13 school year.

Serving as officers are: Terra Macnab, president; Evelyn Hukari (middle/high school representation), first vice president; Cari Lime (elementary representation), second vice president; Sara Brian, treasurer; and Amy Gilson, secretary.

The group encourages all parents, teachers and community members to attend meetings and provide feedback. It next scheduled meeting is Wednesday (today) at 6:30 p.m. at Kings Valley Charter School, 38840 Kings Valley Highway.

For more information: Terra Macnab, 503-871-2632.


Western recognizes 4.0 students

MONMOUTH -- Several students from Polk County are among those who have been named to Western Oregon University's President's List for spring term 2012.

To qualify for the recognition, students must post a term grade-point average of 4.0.

Among those receiving recognition are:


From Dallas

-- Derrick Marshall Angelus, Diedra Kimae Cates, Casey Evelyn Eash, Sarah Katherine Fast, Rachel Lynne Kroeker, Anna Christine Markee, Christopher Raymond McFetridge, Ronald Richard Ryden and Mandi Nicole Walker.


From Independence

-- Bethany Louise Wilson.


From Monmouth

-- Jennifer Helen Brewster, Jordan Marie Huffman, Randal Keith Johnson, Jessica H. Padilla and Jacob Matthew Peterson.

Polk residents make GFU dean's list

NEWBERG -- Several Polk County residents have qualified for inclusion on the 2012 spring term dean's list at George Fox University in Newberg.

They include: Victoria Lynne Wilson, fr., Dallas; Julie Rae Hedrick, fr., Independence; Xuan Zou, sr., Independence; Jenn Michelle Lippert, sr., Monmouth; Alex OpBroek, sr., Monmouth; Christopher Michael Parks, fr., Monmouth; Helena Joyce Riddell, soph., Monmouth; Martin Ray Robison, soph., Monmouth; and Kimberly Lynne Knaupp, soph., Rickreall.

To qualify for the George Fox dean's list, a student must earn a 3.5 or better grade-point average.

WSHS grad earns college degree

CLAREMONT, Calif. -- Katherine Lownsbery of West Salem graduated from Harvey Mudd College on May 13 with a Bachelor of Science in engineering. She graduated with high distinction and departmental honors in engineering. Lownsbery is a graduate of West Salem High School.

Local group presents scholarships

POLK COUNTY -- In celebration of the 100th anniversary of Oregon granting women suffrage, the Polk County Republican Women recently awarded three college scholarships to Polk County high school senior girls.

The competition required scholarship applicants to write an essay regarding women suffrage, in particular an evaluation of the motion picture "Iron Jawed Angel's" and its relevance as a dramatized historical synopsis of the times of women suffrage.

Scholarship recipients were: Kyla Martichuski, West Salem High School, first place, $1,000; Brianna Nordon, Perrydale High School, second place, $500; and Erica Brown, Central High School, third place, $250.

Farm Bureau selects local for award

WILLAMINA -- Polk County resident Anna Smith of Willamina has been awarded a $1,000 Oregon Farm Bureau Memorial Scholarship for the 2012-13 academic year. Smith is a senior double majoring in animal science and applied economics and management at Cornell University.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment