6/20 School Notes/Academic Honors

*VFW announces essay topic*CSD honors employees, parents*West Salem duo earn bachelors*Locals finish degree work at LBCC*DHS grad nets pharmacy doctorate*Dudley receives Whitworth degree*Independence

VFW announces essay topics

DALLAS -- Dallas Veterans of Foreign Wars Post No. 3203 and Ladies Auxiliary have announced the topics for the 2012-13 Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen Essay contests.

Competitors will compete for thousands of dollars in scholarships and a trip to Washington, D.C.

The Voice of Democracy Competition is open to high school students who are asked to write a three-to-five minute recorded essay on the topic of "Is Our Constitution Still Relevant?" Essays can be submitted on audio cassette or CD.

The Patriot's Pen Essay Competition is open to middle school students who will be asked to submit a 300- to 400-word essay on the topic "What I Would Tell America's Founding Fathers."

The deadline for both contests is Nov. 1. Those interested should contact Dennis at 503-812-6355 or Shellie at 503-801-1881.

For entry forms or more information, go to www.vfw.org.

CSD honors employees, parents

INDEPENDENCE -- Classified employees and parent volunteers from each of Central School District's six schools were honored by Masonic Lodge in Independence last week.

The honorees for each building -- employee listed first, then parent -- were: Barbara Hanson and Joyce Wahl, Central High School; Sharon Gibbons and Kelly Cooper, Monmouth Elementary School; Laurie Dental and Darlene Dickenson, Independence Elementary School; Salvador Rodriguez and Jeff and Silvia Robb, Henry Hill Elementary School; Eda Alvarez and Cheryl Beaver, Ash Creek Elementary School; and Dlanie Rowe and Marjorie Meador, Talmadge Middle School.


West Salem duo earn bachelors

SPOKANE, Wash. -- Ryan Tuttle and Rachel Fischer, both 2008 graduates of West Salem High School, participated in graduation exercises during Gonzaga University's Commencement Ceremony held May 13 in Spokane's Veterans' Memorial Arena. Tuttle graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in environmental studies. Fischer graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in psychology.

Locals finish degree work at LBCC

ALBANY -- Several Polk County residents recently completed requirements for degrees and certificates at Linn-Benton Community College.

The school's 44th annual commencement ceremony was held Thursday in the Willamette Event Center at the Linn County Fair and Expo Center in Albany.

Local degree and certificate recipients include:


Grand Ronde

-- Jacob C. Glover, Associate of Applied Science, machine tool technology.



-- Seth B. Baker, Associate of Applied Science, culinary arts; Adam S. Breit, Associate of Arts, Oregon transfer; Stacy E. Eash, Associate of Science, animal science emphasis; Travis J. Kruger, adult high school diploma; and Danielle R. Zojonc, Associate of Applied Science, administrative medical assistant.



-- Nicole F. Cyphers, certificate, veterinary assistant; Nicholas S. Hill, Associate of Applied Science, heavy equipment mechanic/diesel technician; and Richard S. Pratt, Associate of Applied Science, industrial mechanic and maintenance technician.



-- Jessica Goodfellow, certificate, veterinary assistant.

DHS grad nets pharmacy doctorate

CORVALLIS -- Joe King, a 2000 graduate of Dallas High School, has received his doctorate of pharmacy from Oregon State University.

Dudley receives Whitwroth degree

SPOKANE, Wash. -- Tyler Dudley, a graduate of West Salem High School, recently earned his Bachelor of Science degree in engineering physics (cum laude) from Whitworth University.

Independence man earns MBA

INDEPENDENCE -- Erick Miller of Independence recently received his master's degree in business administration from Marylhurst University near Portland.

Five from Polk earn scholarships

SALEM -- Five local residents are among the 25 students who have been awarded $22,000 in scholarships by the Salem Hospital Auxiliary to pursue health care careers next year.

Receiving scholarships from the local area are: Heidi Classen of Dallas, Christopher Compton of Independence, GianLuca Costigliola of Monmouth, Christina Feil of Dallas and Jordan Huffman of Monmouth.

"The Salem Hospital Auxiliary sponsors activities throughout the year, such as our traditional holiday poinsettia sale, to fund these scholarships," said Bruce Evers of the auxiliary's scholarship committee.

W. Salem grads awarded by Maps

WEST SALEM -- Two West Salem High School students recently were presented scholarships from Maps Credit Union. Junhie Chen was awarded $1,000 from the Maps Scholarship Program and $500 from the Earl Littrell Scholarship, while Kailia Walter received a $1,000 Dan Penn Scholarship.

Green makes Kirkland dean's list

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- James Green of West Salem qualified for inclusion on the Kirkland Community College dean's list for spring semester 2012. To qualify, students must have achieved a 3.3 grade point average or higher after completing 12 or more credit hours for the semester.

Dallas High School Class of 2012 receive local scholarships

DALLAS -- DHS Class of 2012 scholarship recipients:

Margaret Anderson: McLeod Family Scholarship - $900.

Alex Bird: Paul Olliff Memorial Math Scholarship - $500; McKinstry - $1,000.

Grant Bollman: Edward Caillier Memorial - $500.

Javier Castaneda: Ilene C. Aamodt Memorial - $4,000.

Josh Christenson: Kelsey Oldham Memorial - $1,000; Paul Olliff Memorial Wrestling Scholarship - $500.

Anna Essex: Doctor and Mrs. Bossatti Memorial - $6,000.

Anna Finke: Beatrice Gallaspy Memorial - $1,500; Louise Minty Memorial Scholarship - $1,000; Carl E. Morrison Rotary Scholarship - $1,000; Dallas Lions Club - $1,000.

Lydia Graber: Dallas Visual Arts - $500.

Ashley Harlow: Administrators Incentive - $500.

Landon Hatton: Chester B. and Jeanne R. Healy Memorial - $1,500; Oregon Department of Forestry - $700.

Gina Hess: St. Anne's Altar Society - $500.

Joseph Hill: McLeod Family Scholarship - $1,000.

Kaci Jones: Windermere Western View Properties - $750.

Annie Lin: Les Schwab Incentive Scholarship - $1,000; Ilene C. Aamodt Memorial - $4,000.

Kelsey Linn: West Valley Hospital Auxiliary - $1,000.

Conner Locke: Dallas Education Association Activities - $500; Dallas Booster Club - $300; Dallas Community Foundation - $1,000; Kaiser Permanente Health Care Career Scholarship - $2,000.

Brett Lynn: McLeod Family Scholarship - $1,000; Elks Most Valuable Student (1st Place) - $500; Hank and Wanona Kliever Memorial - $500; Oregon Department of Forestry - $700.

Nathan MacDonald: Rotary Vocational - $700; Veterans of Foreign Wars Charlie Bair Memorial - $750.

Kaden Montague: Dallas Education Association Activities - $500; Beatrice Gallaspy Memorial Scholarship - $1,500; Louise Minty Memorial Scholarship - $1,000; Carl E. Morrison Rotary - $1,000; Dallas Community Foundation - $1,000.

Sarah Myers: Jeremy Buller Memorial - $500.

David Pauls: Dallas Visual Arts - $500.

Megan Reynolds: McKinstry - $1,000.

Troy Shinn: Elks Most Valuable Student (2nd place) - $250; Louise Minty Memorial Scholarship - $1,400; Sodexo - $500.

Darin Stamy: Edward Caillier Memorial - $500.

Shawn Thornhill: John Klein Memorial - $500; American Legion Music - $500.

Marissa Wynia: Jeremy Buller Memorial Scholarship - $500; Veterans of Foreign Wars Charlie Bair Memorial - $750.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment