Finalists named for community awards

MONMOUTH/INDEPENDENCE — Tickets for the 49th annual Monmouth-Independence Community Awards Banquet, “Tip Your Hat to M-I Town,” are on sale at the Monmouth-Independence Chamber of Commerce through Friday. Tickets are $40.   Most award winners will be announced at the banquet on March 14 at Eola Hills Wine Cellars.   Johnny Archer of Central High School is the winner of the Junior Citizen Award and the only winner being announced in advance.   His involvement in founding and serving as president of the Interact service club at Central, and engagement and leadership in the honor society, math club, class council and Thespian Society are listed among his accomplishments.   The awards ceremony’s nomination and voting process this year consisted of a two-part series, all online. Winners in the business categories were determined by the most votes received on the final ballot.   For the individual awards, a selection committee made up of community members and a student representative from Central High School determined the winners.   The Nominees   First Citizen: Timm Cable, Kathy Martin-Willis, Ben Meyer.   Distinguished Service: Phyllis Bolman, Shane Hedrick, Scott McClure.   Educator of the Year: Diana Rogers, Marcella Stepp, Jeff Witt.   Education Support Staff of the Year: Stephanie Heins-Mueller, Carol Stewart, Kevin Swann.   Retail Service: Independence Cinema, Mungo Signs & Printing, Petals & Vines.   Food and Restaurant Service: Burgerville, Crush Wine Bar & Tasting Room, San Antonio Mexican Restaurant.   Professional/Personal Service: Ash Creek Animal Clinic, Joynt Family Chiropractic, MINET.   Nonprofit Organization: Independence Hop & Heritage Festival, Independence Public Library, Western Oregon University.   


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment