Dallas council race attracts large field

Other cities have few candidates

Election 2014

Election 2014

POLK COUNTY — The paperwork is turned in, the names are official. Dallas will see an exciting contest for city council, while Independence will have only incumbents to elect.

In Dallas, the mayor’s seat, held by Brian Dalton, and four council seats — those held by Jim Fairchild, Jim Brown, Beth Jones and Jackie Lawson — are up for election in November.

Dalton, who was first elected in 2010, is running unopposed. The council race is a different story, with eight candidates vying for four open seats.

Fairchild and Lawson are running for re-election, with challengers Micky L. Garus, Bill Hahn, Joe Koubek, Kenneth S. Mayer, Steve Pickering and Paul K. Trahan. The top four vote-getters will be elected. Incumbents Jim Brown and Beth Jones are not seeking re-election.

In Monmouth, the mayor’s seat held by John Oberst and the three council seats held by Jon Carey, Cec Koontz and Marshall Guthrie are open.

Oberst filed for re-election, as did Carey and Guthrie. Royal Johnson and Gerard Blankenheim also seek council positions. The top three vote-getters will earn council seats.

In Independence, the mayor’s post held John McArdle and council seats held by Diana Lindskog, Marilyn Morton and Tom Takacs are up for election. Only the incumbents filed for re-election.

As reported last week, Falls City mayor Amy Houghtaling is running for re-election. She is challenged by Terry Ungricht — a current city councilor — and Jim Partridge.

Three candidates have filed to run for the three open council seats currently held by John Volkmann, Barbara Spencer and Lori Jean Sickles. Sickles is running for re-election, while Tony Meier and Jennifer Drill will be newcomers to the council.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.