WOU board confirmed

New board of trustees start work on July 1, 2015, to guide Western’s future advancement

Western Oregon University

Western Oregon University

MONMOUTH — The Oregon State Senate voted unanimously Wednesday to confirm members of Western Oregon University’s inaugural board of trustees.

Gov. John Kitzhaber nominated 14 individuals to WOU’s new board in late August.

WOU becomes an independent public university effective July 1, 2015, which is when this newly confirmed board gains governance authority.

The board of trustees to govern WOU was authorized by Senate Bill 270 during the 2013 regular session of the Oregon State Legislature.

The inaugural board members represent the diverse cultural, economic and professional backgrounds found within the Western Oregon University community; they work in education, the private sector, and public service.

The 15-member board includes 11 public members, three members representing WOU (a faculty member, staff member and student), and WOU’s president as a non-voting ex-officio member.

The board members are:

• Jaime Arredondo, secretary-treasurer for Pineros Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (Oregon’s Farmworker Union)

• James M. Baumgartner, partner at Black Helterline LLP law firm in Portland and current trustee on the WOU Foundation Board

• Maj. Gen. Daniel R. Hokanson, the adjutant general of Oregon;

• Ivan Hurtado, underwriter for Farmers Insurance;

• Gloria Ingle, retired K-12 educator, and council member and elder for the Confederated Tribes of Siletz;

• Cecelia ‘Cec’ Koontz, business manager for Central School District and Monmouth city councilor;

• Governor Theodore “Ted” R. Kulongoski, Oregon's governor from 2003-2011;

• Dr. John Minahan, former president of WOU;

• Dr. Jeanette Mladenovic, executive vice-president and provost at Oregon Health & Science University;

• Lane Shetterly, partner in the law firm Shetterly Irick and Ozias; former legislator;

• Louis C. Taylor, senior financial advisor at Taylor Wealth Management, and co-founder and chief operations officer for Zon Compounding, LLC;

• Dr. Cornelia Paraskevas, professor of English at WOU;

• Marshall Guthrie, director of WOU’s Student Enrichment Program and Monmouth city councilor;

• Sofia Llamas, current student at WOU (education major); and

• Mark Weiss, president of WOU.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.