Local students excel at Western

MONMOUTH — Western Oregon University released its honor roll and president’s list for the spring 2015 term on Aug. 5.

Students who earn a 4.0 grade-point average in a term are placed on the president’s list, and those who earn a 3.5-3.99 GPA are listed in the honor roll. Local students are listed.

President’s list: (4.0 or higher)

Dallas: Anne Sophia Barrientos, Krysta Renee Miller, Brittany Newman, Julie Ann Postma, Parker Neal Smith and Brandon Michael Updike.

Independence: Zarrah Lynn Buitron, Jessica Kennedy Justice, Elizabeth Madera-Solis, Lori Jean Peterson and Raina Kae Smith.

Monmouth: Dillon Michael Blinn, Jeff Aaron Collet and James Martin Masnov.

Willamina: Stephanie Marie Delker.

Honor roll: (3.5-3.99)

Dallas: Bethany Blancher, Grant Michael Bollman, Tyler Theodore Brumfield, Serena D. Chiellini, Emily DuMond, Britneigh Gaetz, Melissa Garcia, Jill K. Gentry, Colby B. Kinkade, Elizabeth Ann Kowash, Kyle Jeffrey Kuust, Anna Christine Markee, Joanne M. Mayberry, Maria Mei-Li McCarthy, Jessica Reimer, Megan Raschel Reynolds, Jordan Allen Schrock, Nickie Ann Sickles, Hannah A. Smith, Shawn Michael Thornhill, Tyler Damon Wolfe, Emily N. Wright and Joel T. Yost.

Falls City: Jonathan Michael Kain.

Independence: Kevin Salvador Alejandrez, Anne Butler, Jeffery Wayne Clinton, Veronica Estrada, Celene Garcia-Murillo, Isaac Cory Golden, Anusha Brittany Hoda, Ethan Nathaniel Keen, Ambre Jean McKee, Tiffany Powers, Margaret Ann Smith and Joshua Immanuel Thornton.

Monmouth: Thomas Leif Anderson, Kathleen Marie Biggs, Nicola Marie Farrington, Elaina Joy Glasscock, Erin M. Hoffman, Colton Seth Johnson, Megan Elizabeth Johnson, Michael Matthew Jones, Molly Christine Keizur, Erin Mathews, Hugh A. McElhone, D'Kota Wayne Milburn, Joshua Darrell Patterson, Jesse Benjamin Pratt, Mykel Jeffree Presler, Tori Ann Stutzman, Jesse Samuel Sutter, Arrianne M. Wadsworth and Emily Ruth Watson.

Willamina: Ashley Rose Eddings.

Monmouth man earns top marks

FRONT ROYAL, Va. — Lucas Costa, of Monmouth, has been named to the Randolph-Mason Academy’s president’s list for the fourth quarter of the 2014-15 school year.

To be named to the list, a student must earn a grade-point average of 4.0 or higher.

Costa is the son of Cinthia Costa Jones, of Monmouth, and Alexandre Costa, of Curitiba, Brazil.

PCRW awards three scholarships

POLK COUNTY — Polk County Republican Women presented three scholarships to the winners of its essay contest analyzing the movie “Iron Jawed Maidens,” about the fight to pass the 19th Amendment.

Hannah Skyberg of Willamina received $1,250; Lyric Spivey of Grand Ronde received $1,000; and Alexandria Nave of Dallas received $750. The program was established in 2012 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the amendment, which granted women the right to vote.

The contest is open to any female senior graduating from a Polk County school who has plans to pursue post-high school education.

For more information: 503-623-2764.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.