Dallas Fire honors department leaders

DALLAS — The city of Dallas Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services (EMS) held its annual Sweetheart Banquet on Saturday evening at Pressed Coffee and Wine Bar in Dallas.

The event honors members of the organization, but also thanks members’ spouses/significant others for their support.

The volunteer fire department was organized in 1878 and is the oldest and largest civic organization in the community. During 2014, the EMS responded to 2,883 incidents while fire personnel responded to 960 incidents within its 125-square-mile service area that includes the city of Dallas and the residents of the surrounding Southwestern Polk County Rural Fire Protection District.

The following awards were presented at the banquet:

• Recently retired Deputy Fire Chief Dennis Unger was recognized with a plaque in honor of his more than four decades of service.

• Sheldon Schmidt was recognized as the Rookie of the Year.

• Gary Hibbeler was recognized with the Excellence of Service Award for his countless volunteer hours given as a member of the department’s Support Services Division.

• Capt. Sean Condon was recognized with the Officer of the Year Award.

• Paramedic Thoren Sode was recognized with the EMT of the Year Award.

• Firefighter/Engineer Jesse Friedow was recognized with the Firefighter of the Year Award.

To become a volunteer or for more information: April Welsh, 503-831-3532.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.