Education Foundation awards teacher grants

DALLAS — The Dallas Education Foundation awarded grants to 17 Dallas School District teachers, totaling $6,503.19.

The foundation received 30 applications asking for more than $13,000, said Lisa Borja, the foundation president.

Of the total given, $3,000 was donated by the Dallas Community Foundation.

Here are the 2016 grant recipients:

Heather Shinn, autism team, for sensory and social classroom support; Anna Tally, Dallas High School, for geometry compasses; Jack Davis, DHS, for classroom library; Samantha Hauck, DHS, for classroom library; Malynda Shook, LaCreole Middle School, for art supplies; Jacob Gradek, LaCreole, for materials for project-based learning; Merryellen Price, LaCreole, books for sixth-grade; Jennie White, Lyle Elementary School, ADHA adaptable seating; Liz Blake, Lyle; two Chromebooks; Melissa Glazner, Morrison Campus Alternative School, for science lab materials; Amy Ebner, Oakdale Elementary School; supplementary reading materials; Kristine Nightengale, Oakdale, for fidget tools; Brian Rebischke, Oakdale, bass bar and mallet; Theresa Lehman and Jena Vessell, Oakdale and Whitworth elementary schools, for six microscopes; Yvette Allen and Diana Christensen, Whitworth, for flexible seating; Chris Lund, Whitworth, for Ozobots; and Brian Williamson, Whitworth, for Ozobots.

For more information: dallasoreducation, or on Facebook at

Donations can be made at dallaseducation or mailed to Dallas Education Foundation, PO Box 392, Dallas, OR 97338.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.