Thursday, April 24, 2014

Covering Dallas, Monmouth, Independence, Falls City and surrounding areas since 1868

COLLEGE VOLLEYBALL: Western Oregon's Krissi Kemper named an All-American

Plus four WOU players were honored on the all-GNAC volleyball team.

Western Oregon's Krissi Kemper, center, was named an NCAA All-American last week.

Photo by Nicole Watkins

Western Oregon's Krissi Kemper, center, was named an NCAA All-American last week.

December 05, 2012

MONMOUTH -- Western Oregon University's Krissi Kemper has been selected to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-America team, the organization announced Monday.

The 5-foot-10 junior middle hitter from Crook County High School in Prineville earned third-team honors and is the first volleyball All-American selection for WOU since the school made the move to the NCAA Division II level in 2001.

Kemper was a unanimous first-team all-Great Northwest Athletic Conference selection and a first-team AVCA all-region selection. She led the league -- and ranked second in the nation -- with a .425 hitting percentage.

Kemper ranked third on the team with 215 kills and 79 blocks this season, helping WOU to one of its best finishes in school history as the Wolves ended the year with a record of 21-6 and placed second in the GNAC at 14-4.

WOU PLAYERS EARN ALL-GNAC: The Western Oregon University volleyball team had four players selected to the all-Great Northwest Athletic Conference team, led by three first-team selections.

Senior outside hitters Danielle Reese (Gig Harbor, Wash.) and Samantha Ward (West Salem) and junior middle hitter Krissi Kemper (Prineville) were named to the first team, with Kemper a unanimous selection. Junior middle blocker Becky Blees (Portland) was selected to the second team.

Conference champion Western Washington had a strong showing in the special awards, as outside hitter Marlayna Geary was named GNAC Player of the Year, Diane Flick was selected as Coach of the Year and libero Samantha Hutchinson was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Alaska Anchorage's Julia Mackey and Alaska Fairbanks' Sam Hartun shared the Freshman of the Year award and Alaska Anchorage's Jodi Huddleston was named the Newcomer of the Year.

Hot Jobs