Candidates for city offices are set for the November general election. Dallas, Falls City and Monmouth will have contested races for mayor and their open at-large city council seats. In Independence, one of three city positions is contested and Mayor John McArdle is running unopposed.

The deadline to file for election was Tuesday, Aug. 24. Candidates had until Friday, Aug. 27, to withdraw their name from the ballot.


Two candidates have filed to run for mayor while nine candidates will face off for four open city council seats.

Brian Dalton and Ken Woods Jr., both current city councilors, will vie for the two-year position of mayor.

Current Mayor Jim Fairchild decided to step down from that office, but is now running for one of four seats on the council.

Fairchild is joined by incumbents Jackie Lawson and David Shein. Six more challengers -- Beth Jones, Mark McDonald, Steven DeDominick, Ken Mayer, Murray Stewart and Michael Matthews -- round out the race.

Councilors are elected to four-year terms in Dallas.


Falls City has a full slate of candidates for its open seats.

Facing off for mayor will be Jim Partridge and Amy Houghtaling. The winner will be elected to a two-year term.

Eight candidates are running for three at-large council positions, each a four-year term.

Incumbents John Volkmann and Bruce Garrett will face challenges from current Mayor Darrin Fleener, Debera Ellis, Lori Jean Sickles, Rose Bajorins, Amy Tucker and David Graham.


Mayor John McArdle will run for re-election unopposed.

Tom Takacs, who was recently appointed to fill the remainder of Tim Hind's term at Position 4, will square off against Cynthia Jaramillo.

Diana Lindskog, the Position 1 councilor, and Marilyn Morton, the Position 2 councilor, will both run unopposed in their bid to reclaim their seats.


John Oberst will run for re-election against current City Councilor Steve Milligan in the first contested race for mayor since 2003.

Milligan, who has served close to eight years as a councilor, said he liked Monmouth's current direction and wanted to see it continue.

He added, however, that there should be more than one option for the position.

"I don't think any mayoral race should be unopposed term after term," Milligan said. "There should always be a challenger, not just one person who gets up and is handed the position year after year."

There are five at-large council seats up for grabs -- three four-year terms and two-two year terms.

Candidates are Darin Silbernagel, Ben Meyer, Todd Layton, Adam Jefferson, Kenneth Lehto, Jon Carey and Cecilia Koontz.

The top three vote-getters will serve four-year terms, while the fourth- and fifth-place finishers will serve the two-year terms.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.